Current Location:Home > About US > Institute

Institute

  Instructed by Nie Rongzhen, Vice Premier of the P.R.C. at that time, preparation for the construction of Baotou Research Instituteof Rare Earths (BRIRE for short hereinafter) started in 1960 and it was formally founded in 1963, under the direct administration of former the Ministry of Metallurgy Industry. It was merged into Baotou Iron & Steel (Group) Company in 1992. Today, BRIRE has been developed into the largest comprehensive rare earth technological R & D institution specialized on rare earths in China.

  Targeting at comprehensive exploitation and utilization of rare earth resources, BRIRE is an integrated research institute covering the fields of rare earth metallurgy, environmental protection, new rare earth functional materials, application of rare earths in high tech industry,technical upgrading in traditional industry, rare earth assay & inspection and rare earth information. There are four research centers,including Metallic Materials Research Center, Hydrometallurgy Research Center, Rare Earth Functional Materials Research Center and Resources & Environment Research Center, and a rare earth new materials pilot base in BRIRE, which is the largest one in China. A normative parent-subsidiary corporation system has been formed in BRIRE. The Institute has 14 wholly-owned, holding and participating subsidiaries on scientific development, industry services and production.

  There are national research centers, namely National Key Laboratory for Research and Comprehensive Utilization of Rare Earth Resources in Baiyun Obo , National Engineering Research Center of Rare Earth Metallurgy and Functional Materials and Northern Rare Earth Industry Productivity Promotion Center , as well as provincial research centers in BRIRE such as Inner Mongolia Xiyuan Rare Earth Functional Materials Engineering Technology Research Center . Inner Mongolia Rare Earth Advanced Materials Academician Workstation and Baotou Rare Earth Advanced Materials Academician Workstation are also located in BRIRE. Tianjin Baogang Rare Earth Research Institute Co., Ltd. is the branch of BRIRE in Tianjin. BRIRE has created the International Rare Earth Patents Retrieval System . China Rare Earth Website (www.cre.net) run by the Institute is an authoritative website on rare earths in China. Professional bulletins including Chinese Rare Earths , China Rare Earth Information (English version) and Rare Earth Information are published by the Institute. National Rare Earth Product Quality Supervision and Test Center is set up in BRIRE. BRIRE has the qualification of the National Assay and Inspection Staff Capability Training Center .

  BRIRE has more than 700 employees today and engineering technicians represent more than half of the employees. The Institute has the top research team with strong technical back-up, led by many national and provincial technical experts who have made outstanding contributions to rare earth industry. After more than 50 years development, BRIRE has undertaken more than 1900 projects, including 863 Program , 973 Program and other national scientific projects, as well as provincial and local projects and different projects serving rare earth enterprises. We have got more than 850 technological achievements, among which more than 240 ones were awarded national invention prizes and various provincial technological prizes. More than 100 patents have been patented.

  BRIRE can produce rare earth oxides, individual rare earth metals, mischmetals, various rare earth functional materials and specific rare earths alloys. Those products are sold to domestic and overseas markets for their good quality and they enjoy high reputation in rare earth industry. BRIRE has been certified by Quality Management System, Occupational safety, Health and Environmental Management System. Furthermore, the Institute has supplied large quantities of critical materials and components for national key projects, including Changzheng-series carrier rockets, Shenzhou spaceship,Chinese Lunar Exploration Program , Manned Space Program , etc. BRIRE has made great contributions to the developmentof Chinese rare earth industry and modern national defense construction.
  Add:No.36,Huanghe Street,Rare Earth High-Tech Zone,Baotou,Inner Mongolia
  Postcode:014030
  Tel:+86 472 5179245/5179226/5179522  Fax:+86 472 5152008
  Http://www.brire.com



About US

您当前的位置:网站首页 >

本院介绍

包头稀土研究院于1960年按照聂荣臻副总理指示筹建,1963年正式成立,直属原冶金工业部。1992年并入包钢(集团)公司,是全国最大的综合性稀土科技研发机构。

本院是以稀土资源的综合开发、利用为宗旨,以稀土冶金、环境保护、新型稀土功能材料及在高新技术领域的应用、稀土提升传统产业的技术水平、稀土分析检测、稀土情报信息为研究重点的,多专业、多学科的综合性研发机构,下设金属材料研究所、湿法冶金研究所、稀土功能材料研究所、资源与环境研究所4个专业研究所和国内最大的稀土新材料中试基地。全院形成规范的母子公司体系,拥有以科技开发和行业服务及生产经营为主的全资、控股、参股公司14家。 

本院建有国家级的“白云鄂博稀土资源研究与综合利用国家重点实验室”、“稀土冶金及功能材料国家工程研究中心”和“北方稀土行业生产力促进中心”;建有内蒙古自治区级的“内蒙古希苑稀土功能材料工程技术研究中心”等多个研究平台;建有内蒙古自治区和包头市两级“稀土新材料院士工作站”;在天津设立分院“天津包钢稀土研究院有限责任公司”。本院建有“世界稀土专利检索系统”;承办的“中国稀土网”是稀土行业门户网站;负责《稀土》、英文版《 China Rare Earth Information 》、《稀土信息》等杂志的出版发行。依托本院建有国家级的“国家稀土产品质量监督检验中心”,并拥有“全国分析检测人员能力培训中心”的资质。 

本院现有在册职工700余人,工程技术人员占总人数的一半以上,有多位国家级和自治区级有突出贡献的技术专家,形成了一支具有较高研究水平的业内一流的研发队伍。建院50多年来,共承担“863计划”、“973计划”等国家级科技项目、省部、地市级研发项目和为企业服务的各类项目1900多项,取得各类科研成果850多项,获得国家发明奖和省部级以上各类科技成果奖240多项,获得国家授权专利100多项。

本院的稀土产品以其良好的质量和信誉销往国内外,主要产品有稀土氧化物、单一稀土金属、混合稀土金属、各种稀土功能材料及特种稀土合金等。本院通过了质量体系认证、环境与职业健康安全管理体系认证和军工保密资格认证,拥有武器装备科研生产许可证,为“长征”系列运载火箭、“神舟”号系列飞船、“中国探月工程”和“载人航天”等诸多国家重点工程,研制生产了大量的关键材料和器件,为我国稀土产业的发展和现代化国防建设做出了重大贡献。


  院长、党委书记:杨占峰
  单位地址:内蒙古自治区包头市稀土开发区黄河大街36号
  邮政编码:014030
  通讯地址:内蒙古自治区包头市131信箱
  联系电话:(0472)5179245、5179226、5179522  传  真:(0472)5152008
  网  址:www.brire.com

综合介绍